Duathlon Progress

Well, yesterday saw me complete the second of two duathlons in a month.  They were the 2nd and 3rd of the Limerick Tri Club series.  I came in 62nd in the February race and 77th yesterday, despite picking up 2’15” time improvement.  Was looking to beat the hour, missed that by 39 secs…but there will be other days!

Focussed now on two events, the Limerick Marathon on 2nd May, but before that I am sharing the Nenagh Triathlon with my wife who is swimming before I do the cycle and run.   Recently ran a 10km run in Castleconnell in Limerick too, came in 42nd of over 300 there so chuffed with that… and my time of 45:37

That said, not much improvement on running times yesterday over my previous duathlon event, and that surprised me.  The second run in particular is really a compromise of your mind and your body, getting both to do what you want is like pushing a piano up the stairs sometimes.  Regardless of time, I knew at the end I had given it close to all I had which pleased me.  It could be early next year before I get a crack at that course again.  The hour will be mine!

Will add photos soon.  Well done to Limerick Triathon Club on a superbly organised and enjoyable event.

Leave a comment